JW is Watching You!

The distraught father character of Bryan played by Liam Neeson in Taken left us with a lasting impression of how vulnerable women are to being entrapped and sold into human trafficking. A memorable quote from the film sums up the feelings of rage and anger that goes through those who have direct experiences of this horrible trade: I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that’ll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.

Unfortunately, the reality of this crime against humanity is far less sensational, and affects millions of men, women and children all over the globe. The Federal Bureau of Investigation website gives some important reference links and highlights the fact that human trafficking is prevalent in the USA.

stop-human-trafficking

Human trafficking is prevalent across economic sectors

As a member of the Advisory Board for SISHA (South East Asia Investigations into Social and Humanitarian Activities) my focus is to raise awareness of the need to donate and support the efforts of Executive Director, Steve Morrish and the dedicated team on the ground in Cambodia and Thailand.

SISHA is a registered Australian not-for-profit organisation that strives to ensure justice and the protection of human rights for victims of human trafficking, bonded labour, physical and sexual assault and other forms of exploitation and oppression in South East Asia. SISHA is a non-religious, non-partisan and non-governmental organization.

You can follow SISHA on Twitter and visit the SISHA website to find out more about the great work that is being done on the front lines in the fight against human trafficking and exploitation.

